All Wrapped Up…with Lettuce

27076940_sHere is another surprising fact that I discovered while working at Feed Your Vitality. I don’t have to have bread to enjoy a sandwich. In my previous life, the bread was non-negotiable; it wasn’t a sandwich without bread. Period, end of story. Lettuce sounded like a very sorry substitute.   The first time I tried a wrap in heavy duty crispy lettuce I felt almost guilty that afterwards I hadn’t missed my beloved bread. Now I am almost obsessed with how good everything tastes wrapped in lettuce – Burritos! Tacos! Spring rolls! And of course, sandwiches!

So now, while I am more than happy to eat lettuce wraps that other people make, I wasn’t exactly sure how to go about creating them myself. Here are a few tips I learned from the experts here at Feed Your Vitality.

  • The key to the lettuce wrap is, obviously, the lettuce – and there are quite a few differences of opinion about the “best” type to use.
  • Generally, you want a large leaf that can hold a lot of ingredients.  It should be pliable so it is easy to wrap.
  • Most commonly used are iceberg, romaine, napa cabbage, Boston or Bibb
  • Cut off the end and separate each “leaf”
  • Wash well, making sure to remove any grit, and pat dry with paper towels
  • Fillings can be warm and spicy, cold and refreshing, or basically anything that you would include in a sandwich, burrito, taco, etc.  If the filling is juicy, you may want to drain it well so there isn’t a lot of dripping from the wrap.  This also goes for any additional condiments, dressings or dips you consider adding.
  • When filling, try to keep the ingredients about an inch from the edges of the lettuce. Some people prefer to mix all the ingredients first; some prefer to layer them.
  • Fold the lettuce sides into the center, and roll – it is very similar to putting together a burrito!

All in all, lettuce wraps can be very versatile and used as appetizers or main dishes. You can have a build your own wrap station, or you can prepare them yourself. Depending on the fillings they can be Mexican, Asian or just a simple sandwich.

And that’s a wrap!

